Computer Organization, Spring 2014

Part of the 22C:60 (CS:2630), Computer Organization Collection
by Douglas W. Jones
THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA Department of Computer Science

12:30 Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 110 MacLean Hall

Wed Jan 22 Chapter 1, Introduction
Fri Jan 24 Chapter 2, Data Representation
Mon Jan 27 -- character codes [last free add/drop]
Wed Jan 29 -- number bases [tape delayed lecture]
Fri Jan 31 Chapter 3, Assembly into Memory [Chinese New Year] [tape delayed lecture]
Mon Feb 3 -- structures [last add, last refund for drop]
Wed Feb 5 -- arrays
Fri Feb 7 Chapter 4, The Hawk architecture
Mon Feb 10 -- Load/Store
Wed Feb 12 -- Macros
Fri Feb 14 Chapter 5, Assembly Programming
Mon Feb 17 -- Control Flow
Wed Feb 19 -- Input-Output
Fri Feb 21 Chapter 6, Subroutines,
Mon Feb 24 -- Local variables and recursion (decimal.a)
Wed Feb 26 -- Optimization (boneheaded-decimal.a) (optimized-decimal.a)
Fri Feb 28 -- Optimization (tree-traversal.a)
Mon Mar 3 Chapter 7, Byte addressing, [Clean Monday, Eastern Christian]
Wed Mar 5 -- Strings (boneheaded-puts.a) (optimized-puts.a) [Ash Wednesday, Western Christian]
Fri Mar 7 Midterm Exam I [Degree Applications Due]
Mon Mar 10 Chapter 8, Digital Logic
Wed Mar 12 -- ALUs [Midterm Day]
Fri Mar 14 -- Shifters [Spring Break starts]
Mon Mar 24 Chapter 9, Arithmetic
Wed Mar 26 -- Multiplication
Fri Mar 28 -- Division
Mon Mar 31 Chapter 10, Objects
Wed Apr 2 -- Polymorphism
Fri Apr 4 Chapter 11, Floating Point
Mon Apr 7 -- doing it in software [last date to drop courses]
Wed Apr 9 Chapter 12, Input-Output Devices
Fri Apr 11 -- Flipflops
Mon Apr 14 -- Video Displays
Wed Apr 16 Chapter 13, Exceptions, Interrupts and Traps [Passover 2, Jewish]
Fri Apr 18 -- Virtual Machines [Good Friday, Christian] [Passover 4, Jewish]
Mon Apr 21 -- Interrupt Handlers [Preregistration Begins] [Passover 7, Jewish]
Wed Apr 23 Review
Fri Apr 25 Midterm Exam II
Mon Apr 28 Chapter 14, Memory Management
Wed Apr 30 -- Caches
Fri May 2 -- Memory Management Units
Mon May 5 Chapter 15, Inside the CPU
Wed May 7 -- Pipelines and Interlocks
Fri May 9 -- Superscalar and multicore processors
Fri May 16 3:00PM 101 BCSB (Becker) -- FINAL EXAM