Computer Organization, Summer 2018

Part of the CS:2630, Computer Organization Collection
by Douglas W. Jones
THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA Department of Computer Science

9:30 Monday – Thursday, 112 Macbride Hall

Mon Jun 11 Chapter 1, Introduction
Tue Jun 12 Chapter 2, Data Representation [last free add/drop]
Wed Jun 13 Chapter 3, Assembly into Memory
Thu Jun 14 -- structures and arrays [last add, last refund for drop]
Mon Jun 18 Chapter 4, The Hawk architecture
Tue Jun 19 -- Load/Store and Macros -- demo program for complex macros
Wed Jun 20 Chapter 5, Assembly Programming
Thu Jun 21 -- Control Flow and Input-Output -- hello world demo and successive squares demo
Mon Jun 25 Chapter 6, Subroutines, -- decimal print demo
Tue Jun 26 -- Local variables recursion and optimization -- putd() partly and fully, and Fibonacci
Wed Jun 27 Chapter 7, Byte addressing, -- versions of strlen(): array, pointer, pointer difference
Thu Jun 28 -- Strings, Optimization -- strcpy(), and strcpy() second one with test.
Mon Jul 2 Review & Midterm Exam I
Tue Jul 3 Chapter 8, Digital Logic
Thu Jul 5 -- ALUs and Shifters
Mon Jul 9 Chapter 9, Arithmetic
Tue Jul 10 -- Multiplication and Division
Wed Jul 11 Chapter 10, Objects strings.a, strings.h and stringtest.a.
Thu Jul 12 Chapter 11, Floating Point
Mon Jul 16 -- doing it in software
Tue Jul 17 Chapter 12, I/O Devices
Wed Jul 18 -- Flipflops, Memory Mapped Displays
Thu Jul 19 Chapter 13, Exceptions, Interrupts and Traps
Mon Jul 23 Review & Midterm Exam II [Drop Deadline]
Tue Jul 24 -- Virtual Machines and Interrupt Handlers
Wed Jul 25 Chapter 14, Memory Management
Thu Jul 26 -- Caches and Memory Management Units
Mon Jul 30 Chapter 15, Inside the CPU
Tue Jul 31 -- Pipelined CPUs, Interlocks
Wed Aug 1 -- Superscalar and Multicore Processors
Thu Aug 2 -- Review
Fri Aug 3 10:00-12:00 214 MLH -- FINAL EXAM