Computer Organization, Spring 2015

Part of the CS:2630, Computer Organization Collection
by Douglas W. Jones
THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA Department of Computer Science

12:30 Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 110 MacLean Hall

Wed Jan 21 Chapter 1, Introduction
Fri Jan 23 Chapter 2, Data Representation
Mon Jan 26 -- character codes [last free add/drop]
Wed Jan 28 -- number bases
Fri Jan 30 Chapter 3, Assembly into Memory (example)
Mon Feb 2 -- structures and arrays (example) [last add, last refund for drop]
Wed Feb 4 Chapter 4, The Hawk architecture (example)
Fri Feb 6 -- Load/Store
Mon Feb 9 -- Macros
Wed Feb 11 Chapter 5, Assembly Programming
Fri Feb 13 -- Control Flow [Bad luck (Christian?)]
Mon Feb 16 -- Input-Output (example)
Wed Feb 18 Chapter 6, Subroutines, (example) [Ash Wednesday (western Christian)]
Fri Feb 20 -- Local variables and recursion
Mon Feb 23 -- Optimization / Review (example) (optimized) [Clean Monday (eastern Christian)]
Wed Feb 25 -- Optimization
Fri Feb 27 Chapter 7, Byte addressing, (example) [Degree Applications Due]
Mon Mar 2 -- Strings
Wed Mar 4 -- Optimization
Fri Mar 6 Midterm Exam I
Mon Mar 9 Chapter 8, Digital Logic
Wed Mar 11 -- ALUs [Midterm Day]
Fri Mar 13 -- Shifters [Bad luck (Christian?)]
Mon Mar 23 Chapter 9, Arithmetic
Wed Mar 25 -- Multiplication
Fri Mar 27 -- Division
Mon Mar 30 Chapter 10, Objects
Wed Apr 1 -- Polymorphism [April Fools' Day (nondenominational)]
Fri Apr 3 Chapter 11, Floating Point [Good Friday (western Christian)]
Mon Apr 6 -- doing it in software [undergrad drop deadline] [Passover III (Jewish)]
Wed Apr 8 Chapter 12, I/O Devices [Passover V (Jewish)]
Fri Apr 10 -- Flipflops [Passover VII (Jewish)] [Holy Friday (eastern Christian)]
Mon Apr 13 -- Video Displays [Preregistration Begins]
Wed Apr 15 Chapter 13, Exceptions, Interrupts and Traps
Fri Apr 17 -- Virtual Machines
Mon Apr 20 -- Interrupt Handlers
Wed Apr 22 -- Handlers / Review
Fri Apr 24 Midterm Exam II
Mon Apr 27 Chapter 14, Memory Management
Wed Apr 29 -- Caches
Fri May 1 -- Memory Management Units [International Workers' Day (Socialist)]
Mon May 4 Chapter 15, Inside the CPU
Wed May 6 -- Pipelines and Interlocks
Fri May 8 -- Superscalar and multicore processors
Wed May 13 3:00-5:00 PM 110 MLH -- FINAL EXAM (tentative)