Computer Organization, Fall 2014

Part of the CS:2630, Computer Organization Collection
by Douglas W. Jones
THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA Department of Computer Science

10:30 Monday, Wednesday and Friday, W307 Pappajohn Business Building

Mon Aug 25 Chapter 1, Introduction
Wed Aug 27 Chapter 2, Data Representation
Fri Aug 29 -- character codes [last free add/drop] [Ganesh Chaturthi (Hindu)]
Wed Sep 3 -- number bases
Fri Sep 5 -- structures
Mon Sep 8 -- arrays [last add, last refund for drop]
Wed Sep 10 Chapter 4, The Hawk architecture
Fri Sep 12 -- Load/Store
Mon Sep 15 -- Macros
Wed Sep 17 Chapter 5, Assembly Programming
Fri Sep 19 -- Control Flow
Mon Sep 22 -- Input-Output
Wed Sep 24 Chapter 6, Subroutines,
Fri Sep 26 -- no class [Rosh Hashana II(Jewish)]
Mon Sep 29 -- Local variables and recursion
Wed Oct 1 -- Optimization
Fri Oct 3 -- Optimization [Day of Arafa (Muslim)]
Mon Oct 6 Chapter 7, Byte addressing,
Wed Oct 8 -- Strings
Fri Oct 10 Midterm Exam I [Degree Applications Due] [Succot II (Jewish)]
Mon Oct 13 Chapter 8, Digital Logic [Succot V (Jewish)]
Wed Oct 15 -- ALUs [Midterm Day] [Succot VII (Jewish)]
Fri Oct 17 -- Shifters [Simchat Torah (Jewish)]
Mon Oct 20 Chapter 9, Arithmetic
Wed Oct 22 -- Multiplication
Fri Oct 24 -- Division
Mon Oct 27 Chapter 10, Objects
Wed Oct 29 -- Polymorphism
Fri Oct 31 Chapter 11, Floating Point [Halloween (Christian?)]
Mon Nov 3 -- doing it in software [undergrad drop deadline]
Wed Nov 5 Chapter 12, Input-Output Devices
Fri Nov 7 -- Flipflops
Mon Nov 10 -- Video Displays [Preregistration Begins]
Wed Nov 12 Chapter 13, Exceptions, Interrupts and Traps
Fri Nov 14 -- Virtual Machines
Mon Nov 17 -- Interrupt Handlers
Wed Nov 19 Review
Fri Nov 21 Midterm Exam II
Mon Dec 1 Chapter 14, Memory Management
Wed Dec 3 -- Caches
Fri Dec 5 -- Memory Management Units
Mon Dec 8 Chapter 15, Inside the CPU
Wed Dec 10 -- Pipelines and Interlocks
Fri Dec 12 -- Superscalar and multicore processors
Wed Dec 17 5:30-7:30 PM W307 PBB -- FINAL EXAM