Sukumar Ghosh


Ph.D. (1971), Calcutta University
M.Tech (1967), Computer Science & Engineering, Calcutta University


1987-today: Faculty member, Department of Computer Science, University of Iowa
1969-1984: Faculty member, Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India

Past Ph.D. students

Ajoy K. Datta , Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Pranay Chaudhuri, Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, JayPee University of Information Technology, India
Narayan Chaudhuri, Bengal Engineering College, India
Atal Chaudhuri, Professor of Computer Science, Jadavpur University, India
Somprakash Bandopadhyay, Professor, Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata, India
Ajay Gupta, Lucent Technologies
Xiaoming Lin
Mehmet Hakan Karaata , Associate Professor, Department of Computer Engineering, Kuwait University
Jeff Line, Minolta
Arobinda Gupta , Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
Xin He, Microsoft Research
Shrisha Rao Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore, India
Alina Bejan, OSG (Open Science Grid) Coordinator for EOT (Education, Outreach, Training), University of Chicago (Computation Institute)(starting Fall 2007)
Anand Padmanabhan, Research Scientist, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Anurag Dasgupta, Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Iowa

Current Ph.D. students

Andrew D. Berns
Lincoln Lourens

Selected Professional Activities

Member of IEEE, IEEE Computer Society, and ACM
Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Steering Committee Chair: Symposium on Self-Stabilizing Systems (SSS 2007)
Steering Committee Chair: International Conference on Distributed Computing and Networking (ICDCN 2008)
General Chair: Fourth Asian Mobile Computing Conference (AMOC 2006)

Current Research Interests

Distributed Systems and Algorithms, Fault Tolerance, Self-stabilizing and Self-organizing Systems, Embedded Systems